Friday 22 January 2016, 7.30 pm in Cairns Church

Huw Wiggin - Soprano saxophone
Ellie Mcmurray - Alto saxophone
Jose Manuel Bañuls - Tenor saxophone
Shevaughan Beere - Baritone saxophone

Bach (arr. Ferio)
Guillermo Lago »
Ferenc Farkas »
J-B. Singelée »
Philip Glass »
Piazzolla (arr. Ferio)
Prelude in G Minor BWV 535
Saxophone Quartet, Op 109
Cuidades (Cities) Addis Ababa, Sarajevo
Old Hungarian Dances
Grand Quatuor Concertant, Op 79
Concerto for Saxophone Quartet

These four young virtuosi began the year in style by winning the prestigious Royal Overseas League Competition. The quartet of Royal College of Music graduates formed in 2012 with a mission to expand the repertoire of exciting new music for four saxophones as well as performing the established repertoire. Their programme includes Glazunov's important Quartet as well as cult composer Philip Glass's mesmerising Concerto.

Supported by the Tunnell Trust »

« Previous concert  |  Next concert »