Friday 14 February 2014, 7.30 pm in Cairns Church

Jessie Grimes clarinet, Zoë Matthews viola, Charis Hanning piano

Kurtág »
Larsen »
Kegelstatt Trio K.498
Märchenerzählungen (Fairy Tales) Op.132 »
Hommage à R. Sch. Op. 15d
Eight Pieces (selection)
Speak Seven Seas »
Black Bird, Red Hills »
Trio in E flat major

"charm, great stage presence as well as excellent musical talent" Maple Leaf Trust

There is some truly beautiful music for clarinet, viola and piano. Mozart's great Kegelstatt Trio, dedicated to his pupil Franziska Jacquin (from whom the London-based Jacquin Trio takes its name) takes its place alongside delightfully picturesque pieces by Schumann and Bruch, and a lovely, late-romantic rarity by Dutch composer Julius Röntgen. Two highly evocative, nature-inspired pieces by Welshman Huw Watkins and Grammy Award-winning American Libby Larsen complete this fascinating programme.

Supported by the Tunnell Trust

« Previous concert  |  Next concert »