Friday 14 November 7.30 pm in Cairns Church


Martin Butler
Piano Quartet in E flat Op.16
Piano Quartet No 1 in C minor
Sequenza Notturna
Schumann Piano Quartet Op. 47

Since her success at the 1987 Leeds International Piano Competition, Noriko Ogawa has become one of the most respected and loved pianists around the world. Her many recordings for BIS, including the complete piano music of Debussy and of her countryman Takemitsu, have met with universal acclaim and she appears with all the major European, Japanese and US orchestras. Appointed Artist in Residence at Manchester's Bridgewater Hall, she is also a distinguished chamber music player and recitalist.

"My music is like a garden, and I am the gardener. Listening to my music can be compared with walking through a garden and experiencing the changes in light, pattern and texture." Toru Takemitsu
from Tom Service's Guide to the music of Takemitsu »

« Previous concert  |  Next concert »

"Ogawa responds to every fleeting whimsicality with such clarity and refinement that you are lost in wonder" Bryce Morrison, The Gramophone