For its 2009-2010 Season, and for the first time since its foundation in 1942, Milngavie Music Club commissioned a new work, on this occasion from locally resident composer Malcolm Lindsay.

Following the warm reception of Malcolm's piano trio "After the Snow", a viola and piano duo was commissioned from Michael Norris for first performance in November 2010

For recitalists seeking novel repertory, sample pages of the scores and further information are provided as pdf downloads.

For further information email

March 2010

First performance by Phoenix of "After the Snow" by Malcolm Lindsay

Members of Phoenix for this occasion were Anthony Moffat, violin, Martin Storey, cello and Scott Mitchell, piano. The title is that of a poem by the Glasgow-born poet Mark Halliday, fragments of several of whose poems furnished inspiration for passages of the trio. Supported by Scottish Arts Council, East Dunbartonshire Arts Council and individual members of the club.

Elizabeth Layton and Malcolm Lindsay
(Photo, Melanie Sims)

November 2010

First performance by Scott Dickinson, viola and Graeme McNaught, piano of "Kaleidoscope" by Michael Norris. Supported by East Dunbartonshire Arts Council and Milngavie Music Club.

Kaleidsocope: Six stylistic variations for viola and piano: baroque, classical, romantic, impressionist, early jazz
Download composer's analysis of the six variations and sample pages of the score »