Friday 12th March 2010 at 7.30 pm in Cairns Church Milngavie


Anthony Moffat, violin
Martin Storey, cello »
Scott Mitchell, piano »

(Elizabeth Layton is indisposed. The Music Club is extremely fortunate that Anthony Moffat, Leader of the Orchestra of Scottish Opera, is able to take her place in Phoenix for this recital. Martin Storey is newly appointed Principal Cello in the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra)

Elizabeth Layton and Malcolm Lindsay (Photo, Melanie Sims)

Malcolm Lindsay »

Francoeur »

Adagio in E Flat Op.148 ('Notturno')
Violin Sonata
After the Snow (MMC Commission, first performance)

Cello Sonata in A Major
Trio Opus 1 No.1

Phoenix is an exciting new ensemble drawn from principal players in the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, each of whom is among Scotland's finest musicians. This programme of piano trios includes Milngavie Music Club's first ever commission, a new work by locally based composer Malcolm Lindsay, whose scores for TV and cinema have earned him a national reputation.


« Previous concert   Next concert »